Make your own free website on

New Testament


Along with the Old Testament, the sacred literature of Christianity. It is called 'New Testament' because its writings are believed to represent a new covenant of God with his people, centred on the person and work of Jesus Christ, as distinct from the old covenant with Israel which is described in the 'Old Testament'. The 27 New Testament writings were originally composed in Greek, mainly in the 1st-c AD, unlike the Old Testament writings which are primarily in Hebrew and from earlier centuries.


The New Testament writings focus upon the ministry of Jesus, the origins of the Christian Church, and the ministries of Paul and other early apostles. They are usually grouped as follows: 4 Gospels (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John), the Acts of the Apostles, 13 letters attributed to Paul (Romans, 1 and 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 and 2 Thessalonians, 1 and 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon), the Letter to the Hebrews, 7 General or 'Catholic' letters (James; 1 and 2 Peter; 1, 2 and 3 John; Jude) and the Book of Revelation.


This corpus largely achieved recognition in the Christian Church by the end of the 2nd-c, but a few works continued to be contested in later centuries.